And the Award Goes to…

Well readers, I knew it was only a matter of time before someone recognized my genius and nominated me for an award, and here we are: I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award. I joke of course. I am actually wonderfully and pleasantly surprised to have been nominated for anything given that I thought the only reader was my sister and some others who found themselves here by chance of a botched Google search.

So, I thank Alice over at Inlallyland for the nomination. I really appreciate it! It seems Alice is a fellow teacher here in the Land of the Morning Calm. The award is for new (or newish) bloggers and aims to get them to reach out to other bloggers and find their place in the so called Blogosphere. In order to do this we are asked to share 11 facts about ourselves and answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated us. Then we’ve got to nominate 11 more blogs for the award. I guess 11 is the magic number, someone ought to tell Schoolhouse Rock about this…

11 Facts About Emmet

  1. I’m an Irish boy currently living the high life of an English teacher in Busan, South Korea. This has been one of the most rewarding and challenging experiences of my entire life, and I love it. I came to Korea in 2014 with Jamie/J whose photos you will most likely be admiring in any photo heavy posts.
  2. The name of my blog Buachaill Busan is Irish (yes it’s a different language) for Busan Boy. The blog has this name for obvious reasons. I won’t waste time or words explaining this further.
  3. I can never remember what age I am. Now this sounds ridiculous, I’m aware of that. However, here in Korea I’m ’24’ even though I just had a birthday and turned 23 by my ‘real’ age. Sure this doesn’t seem so difficult to understand, but ever since I was a kid I’ve been told I’m an old man and behaved as such.
  4. I do all of my best thinking when I’m stuck behind someone on an escalator out of the subway. Living in Korea has really given me a lot of time to think.
  5. My least favorite thing about teaching in Korea is that I have to drop the ‘u’ from colour, neighbour, and humour. At least it used to be when I first got here.
  6. I recently moved school and house to the very center of Busan.
  7. I’m cautious but often do not look before I leap. This has gotten me into a lot of trouble in the past and shows no sign of changing. That said, this blind leap of faith has also brought me to Korea, so I guess it’s not all bad.
  8. I love a good gin and tonic now and then. Ice, no lemon. Combined with number 7 this has lead to some crazy adventures and terrible mistakes.
  9. Even though I’ve been in Korea a full year, I’ve still not learned Korean. This one I’m working on, and I hope to be at least conversational by the time I leave here.
  10. I’m currently enrolled in a Coursera course (online learning for the win!) in Linguistics from the University of Lieden. Naturally I’m procrastinating and writing this post instead of watching last week’s lectures. I’m blaming the Hong Kong trip for my delayed study. I would thoroughly recommend these courses to anyone looking to learn online as they are a great ‘toe in the water’ for returning to education.
  11. Speaking of education, I’m hoping to return to university to study speech and language therapy in 2016. Daunting as the prospect is, I’m super excited and have begun work not only on applying but also on learning about linguistics and the musculature of the head and neck.

So that’s it you’re up to speed on me and my life here in Korea, now onto part two of the challenge:

Alice’s Questions

What is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure… there’s so much that I could say, that I’m sure most people are expecting, but instead I’m going to go with ignoring my responsibilities and watching cartoons instead. Sometimes we all need to watch 23 episodes of Justice League Unlimited. Guess I’m not such an ‘old soul’ afterall.

Name 5 things that make you happy.

Audrey Hepburn movies. Pokemon games. Hanging out with my friends. Playing board games. Skype games with my sister. This last one began when she lived in Australia and we would Skype for 40 minutes and run out of things to say, so instead we made faces and did stupid games.

What skills do you wish you had?

I want to be able to sing well. I have a voice that makes the whole room stop for all the wrong reasons but I still love to sing 87% of the time. This is particularly annoying in Korea as singing rooms or norebangs (노래방) are a very important part of a night out!

What is your favourite twitter account to follow?

I have no idea of a favorite Twitter account. I really enjoy Anna Kendrick (@AnnaKendrick47) and Kristin Chenoweth (who once tweeted me back, best 2 words of my twitter life)

Do you have any superstitions?

I feel really really uncomfortable if I don’t separate the M&Ms by color before I eat them. Also I firmly believe that if my leg dangles off the bed, it will be eaten by monsters.

What are you reading at the moment?

Right now I’m in the early stages of Oliver Twist, and the middle of Jane Eyre, which I have almost no intention of finishing.

If you had to live with only one of the five senses, which would it be and why?

I’m going to have to go with hearing. My imagination is pretty good so I could get through most of my daily life with just hearing. That and I’m not ready to give up music just yet.

What do you find scarier, the idea there is other life out there in the universe, or there isn’t and we’re completely alone?

Neither option is particularly appealing to me.

What’s the meaning behind your blog title?

See above.

What is your favourite season/weather?

In Korea I love the spring time. There are cherry blossoms, nice sunny weather, but it’s not too hot. Back home I love the summer, it’s usually not too hot, but when the sun shines Galway is my favorite place on the whole planet.

Tattoos. Why/Why not and what are they/would they be?

I have one on my heel, just on the inside of the foot. I got it two years ago and sometimes forget it’s there. I’m a firm believer that tattoos should be in places you can easily cover in business situations. Even though mine isn’t particularly offensive I like to have it covered 90% of the time.

My Nominees:

Dosirak Bento

Happy Days

Tommy Arigna

PolkadotROK

ReadWriteHere

So… I don’t have 11 blogs right now… I’ll try to find some more later today nut I’ve got study to do at the minute.

My Questions:

1. Where are you writing from?

2. Do you prefer pen and paper or digital?

3. What was the last mind-blowing novel you read?

4. What time of day do you prefer to write at?

5. Where are you from and is it the same place you live now?

6. Why did you start your blog?

7. If you could pick just one holiday destination from the places you’ve been where would you choose?

8. Do you write with music? If yes, what kind/which artists?

9. Where do you do your best thinking?

10. Have you ever been part of a social movement?

11. How DO they get the fig into the Fig Roll?

THE RULES:

1. Thank and link back to the person(s) who nominated you and display the award.

2. Answer the 11 questions the nominee asked.

3. Give 11 random facts about yourself.

4. Nominate 11 bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.

5. Notify the bloggers you chose for the award.

6. Make a list of 11 different questions for your nominees to answer

6 thoughts on “And the Award Goes to…

What do you think?

