The Origins of Christmas – and the holiday’s actual meaning today.

This is an interesting read, and I was myself, thinking along the same lines just last night. Despite not being a practicing Catholic, nor even a believing one, I find it hard to see the mass consumerism at Christmas. Especially given that I’m the world away from my family this year, I find that the things I’m missing most aren’t the mince pies and the tin of Roses (although I do miss those!!!). It’s the feeling of being together with family that I’m longing for, and that I think, is the true spirit of Christmas!

2 thoughts on “The Origins of Christmas – and the holiday’s actual meaning today.

  1. Thanks for the reblog – much appreciated. Of course, you probably wouldn’t see it as much in Korea, because it’s not as big of a thing there as it would be in, say, the US or Ireland. I know that a lot of people are Religious, but I think that there is still a spirit there, originating from the original intention of the holiday, that everyone can recognise and identify with. And that is through their Families and friends.

    OK, I’ll never cut it as a Theologian or a Philosopher – but you can’t say that I didn’t try! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

