The Rain in Sp….Korea

[NEMA] 3 days 1:30 like Secret Sunshine, sunshade, Gimhae, Busan rainfall alarm, humidity and flooding risk areas to evacuate, go out, please refrain attention to safety

What a wonderful way to start the day! An indecipherable message, from what I can only assume is some form of spy organization. Obviously, they work in some way akin to ISIS from FX’s Archer (as opposed to the unaffiliated, yet similarly initialized ISIS/ISIL of the Middle-East).

This came in at about 8AM this morning in the form of a text message. It’s not the first message of it’s kind, nor do I assume it’s the last. I mean spies always have to communicate right?

In actuality, the message was written in Korean, and it was the infamous Google Translate that resulted in this garbled smattering of warnings followed by negations of said warnings… I surmise the intended purpose was to warn me that it was going to bucket with rain this morning, and thus save me from the thorough soaking I was to receive.

Sodden as I was, I decided to cab it to work, where everyone else was also feeling the effects of the depleting vitamin D levels as a result of the rain. It was thus I found myself standing in class trying to convince the children that the “long O” sound does not make an “ow” sound, I very nearly resorted to the Henry Higgins method of pronunciation coaching just to ease my way into the day.

 

Overall, today has been somewhat of a damp one, but at least the weather is reinforcing what the kids so often tell me: “Korea has four seasons teacher”.

2 thoughts on “The Rain in Sp….Korea

What do you think?

